Gluten Free Cake Mix

Gluten free cake mix is a must have in the kitchen for people who have celiac disease or an intolerance to gluten or wheat. For people, especially parents, who don’t have time to bake, a gluten free cake mix out of the box is a great and simple alternative. Gluten free baking from scratch is much more time consuming and labor intensive so if you aren’t a baker, your best bet is to go with a boxed gluten free cake mix since it only requires a couple of simple ingredients and a couple of steps.

Many kids(and even many adults) who get diagnosed with celiac disease, gluten or wheat sensitivity or any other food allergy really miss the simple joy of being able to enjoy a cupcake, a birthday cake, brownie, banana bread or any other baked good. Usually the gluten and allergy free options don’t taste very good or are dry and brittle.

The Really Great Food Company’s gluten free cake mix is a great alternative for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance. Every one of our mixes is super easy to prepare and tastes AMAZING! Every product in our line is moist and decadent with no aftertaste of your typical gluten free cake mix. You will not be able to tell the difference between our product and a ‘normal’ cake mix. Our mix is manufactured in a dedicated gluten free & nut free facility. This is very important as we will never have an issue with cross-contamination with any of our allergy free products. The Really Great Food Company’s entire line is also Kosher and Top 8 allergen free for people who cannot have dairy, eggs, casein, tree nuts, soy or yeast.

Remember to always see a doctor to get tested for celiac disease before starting any gluten free diet.

What is Spelt Flour?

A common question asked by many people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivities is “What is Spelt Flour?”. The first thing you should know is that spelt does indeed contain gluten and should not be eaten by anyone who is gluten-sensitive or has celiac disease. That being said, the presence of gluten does not make spelt wheat.

Spelt is an ancient grain which has been cultivated for centuries. It has recently become popular because, although it does contain gluten, it is a good alternative for wheat and people who cannot tolerate wheat.

For a few years now, the United States Government has required foods be labeled to indicate if they contain any of the top 8 food allergens. As part of the implementation of this law, the FDA has declared that spelt is wheat and that spelt must be labeled as wheat. Although spelt and wheat are indeed closely related, they are two different species.

As you can probably guess, spelt flour is ground from the spelt grain. Spelt has a mildly sweet and nutty flavor that adds character to breads and other baked goods. Its texture is softer and lighter than whole wheat.

Spelt is low in gluten which may be the reason why many people who suffer allergic reactions after eating wheat do not react to spelt. It is also possible that spelt is easier to digest due to the protein in spelt being more soluble than wheat.

Consult your doctor about your own food allergy test results and follow the diet recommended for you.

 

 

Teal Pumpkin Project

Teal Pumpkin Project

As jack-o’-lanterns and other spooky decorations make their debut on porches, so too are pumpkins painted teal, standing out among their orange peers. They may look a little odd, but these pumpkins serve to make Halloween even happier for some children.